Shelves of stories waiting to be discovered. Image via Pixabay

IDEAL CHARACTERS AND FAIRY GODMOTHERS

FAIRYTALES WITH BITE

I share what I think makes up the perfect qualities of the ideal fairy godmother.  What do you think?  Do you agree?  Are there qualities I’ve missed out?

THIS WORLD AND OTHERS

Continuing with the theme of idealism, I ask what makes the perfect character from the writer’s viewpoint.  Amongst other things I suggest that the writer should be sympathetic to their character’s flaws but not be annoyed by their virtues.  Do you agree?  I remember reading Agatha Christie became thoroughly fed up with Hercule Poirot.  So how as writers do we remain in love with our characters enough to keep on writing about them?  That is really relevant of course for series writers but see what you think of my suggestions here.

FACEBOOK PAGE

I share what I like about classical music and admit I don’t know that much about it!  What matters is that I know what I like when I hear it.  And the same can go for writing to an extent.  I know what I like when I read it.  And that goes for my own stories as well as those of other writers.  It’s definitely time to move on to another story if you are not gripped by it.  And this is something to watch for when editing your tales.  Is your story gripping you? If not, it won’t grip anyone else!

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FAllison.Symes.FairytaleLady%2Fposts%2F787381438031504&width=500

From paper to PC, characters and stories must grip you as the writer first if they are to have any hope of gripping readers! Image via Pixabay

From paper to PC, characters and stories must grip you as the writer first if they are to have any hope of gripping readers! Image via Pixabay.

Leave a Reply

