Hard at work. While writing should always be fun, the work of getting it fit for publication shouldn't be underestimated. Image via Pixabay.

FAVOURITE STORIES

FAIRYTALES WITH BITE

A character’s favourite stories can tell you a great deal about the character so this can be useful in helping to portray them as fully rounded beings.  What makes the favourite stories so well loved by your characters?  What legends are they brought up on and which would be their sacred texts?  I ask these questions and others in tonight’s post.  There are stories to be had writing the story behind the story!

THIS WORLD AND OTHERS

What every character wants is the theme here tonight.  Are you giving your characters what they want?!  My short check list may be a useful place to start!

FACEBOOK PAGE

I talk about my methods of writing a short story, sending it off to a competition (usually) and then immediately starting another one.  Sometimes I write a story and later a suitable competition comes up so I send the piece off.  But this method of working means by the end of a year, I have written a reasonable number of stories.  I tend to write flash fiction in small batches.  I don’t know why but it seems to work for me.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FAllison.Symes.FairytaleLady%2Fposts%2F793783714057943&width=500

Where stories used to start - P.G. Wodehouse and Agatha Christie, two of my favourite authors, must have produced billions of words between them on typewriters. Image via Pixabay.

Where stories used to start – P.G. Wodehouse and Agatha Christie, two of my favourite authors, must have produced billions of words between them on typewriters. Image via Pixabay.

 

 

Leave a Reply

