The Hayes Conference Centre, Derbyshire.

THE DANGERS OF REVIEWING MAGICAL BOOKS

FAIRYTALES WITH BITE

There are some jobs that the sensible would avoid at all costs.  One of these is being a magical book reviewer.  Tonight’s FWB post looks how a magical book reviewer might set about their task – and yes, carefully is one answer!

THIS WORLD AND OTHERS

Spreading the Word discusses (briefly) the need that all authors have to do what they can in this regard.  I do take my own advice (!) and share news of the latest anthology my work appears in on my News page.  (The Best of Cafelit 5 published by Chapeltown Books and available in print and electronically.  There!   I’ve taken my own advice again – links on my website!).

From a fictional viewpoint, this post discusses how your characters might spread the word.  The post asks how technology has developed in your story worlds and, if it hasn’t, asks why not?  Is the media controlled in your settings?  Are stories still told in the oral tradition?  Answering these questions could trigger some really good stories.  (Orwell’s 1984 being the ultimate re the media control one I think).

CHANDLER’S FORD TODAY

I discuss what makes a good writing conference in tonight’s CFT post and share my thoughts based on my experience of attending the Winchester and Swanwick conferences.  I share some of my photos taken at Swanwick.  The conference there is held at The Hayes Conference Centre in Derbyshire.  The grounds are lovely and the accommodation very comfortable.  Only trouble?  I ate far too much when I was away there!   Still it is a nice trouble to have…and I certainly wasn’t the only one!

FACEBOOK PAGE

My FB author page tonight shares the link with my Chandler’s Ford Today post where I discuss good writing conferences.  I share what I have learned about what to look out for, based on my experience of the Winchester Writers’ Festival and, for the first time this year, the Swanwick Summer Writers’ School.  Hope the post helps those who are considering going to a conference for the first time.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FAllison.Symes.FairytaleLady%2Fposts%2F795112463925068&width=500

One of the lakes at The Hayes Conference Centre, Derbyshire, which is home to the Swanwick Summer Writers' School.  Image taken by me this year.  Lovely place to walk around.

One of the lakes at The Hayes Conference Centre, Derbyshire, which is home to the Swanwick Summer Writers’ School. Image taken by me this year. Lovely place to walk around.

 

Leave a Reply

