Poets stand and stare and then write down. Image via Pixabay.

MAGICAL GOVERNMENT

FAIRYTALES WITH BITE

The trouble with living in a magical environment is it would be only too easy for everyone to resolve arguments with magic and, basically, the most powerful would always win.  The realm itself would almost certainly be in a bad way as nothing can stand having too much magic go through it at one go.  So politics has to creep in – an accommodation has to be found.  And that is the theme of Magical Government.

THIS WORLD AND OTHERS

With You Must be Joking I go from one sort of joke – politics (!) – to another and ask what role does humour have to play in the fictional world you’ve set up?  Is satire allowed?  Who does do any joking in your setting and what happens if they break the rules?  There could be a comic tale or several and/or tragedies to write here.

OTHER NEWS

Last week’s Chandler’s Ford Today post on the Story Shuffle Project has led to some Twitter activity about it.  Many thanks to all who retweeted the link to the post.  And I am glad to say I have been looking at the edits on my flash fiction collection (couldn’t believe some of the silly, but easy to correct, errors I’d made but then that is why you need a good editor!).  I’ve also sent the edits back to the publishers.  So it has been a busy week already and it is only Tuesday!!

FACEBOOK PAGE

I discuss poetry tonight and list one of my favourites from Pam Ayres.  Though I do find with poetry I can’t really name a favourite as so much depends on mood – mine and the poet’s!  What do you think?

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FAllison.Symes.FairytaleLady%2Fposts%2F802890826480565&width=500

Poetry conjures up images and war poetry conjures up some of the most famous of all. Image via Pixabay (and I think one of the loveliest I've ever shared. Simple but stunning).

Poetry conjures up images and war poetry conjures up some of the most famous of all. Image via Pixabay (and I think one of the loveliest I’ve ever shared. Simple but stunning).

 

Leave a Reply

